Humble Choice – May, 2021

Another month means another choice to make and this time around, I’m not too sure what to think of the games. For starters, there are a bunch of interesting games in here that definitely catch my eyes and there are some that look kind of fun but I’d get quickly quite bored of them and then there are some that I absolutely don’t want. Last month I had a similar situation and ended up pausing… but then Humble Choice offered me a 50% coupon (or at some money off but I ended up paying 6€ instead of 12€, so… either something went wrong or dollars are worth a lot less now! Anyways, I got most of those games now either in my library or as keys, so I may give some away on Stream sometime. Hence, check out last month’s post if you wanna see my opinion of some of these titles! Personally, I feel like April has had a lot more to offer in terms of quality titles than this month… but again, that’s just my personal opinion and I haven’t looked at the cost of the titles, so I’m still debating on whether or not I’ll get this month’s titles while I write up this post here. Oh well, here is my rating!

NameDeveloperGenreRank
HellpointCradle GamesSouls-like, Action, Sci-Fi, RPG, Multiplayer1
MorkreddHyper GamesPhysics, Puzzle, Local Co-Op, Indie, Exploration2
VaneFriend & Foe GamesExploration, Action, Adventure, Indie, Casual3
Metro Exodus4A GamesPost-Apocalyptic, Atmospheric, Action, FPS4
Darksiders GenesisAirship SyndicateAction, Adventure, Co-Op, RPG, Hack and Slash5
Family ManBroken Bear GamesAdventure, First-Person, Indie, RPG6
Size MattersMazen GamesIndie, Science, Simulation, Casual6
RelictaMighty PolygonAction, Puzzle-Platformer, Exploration8
Cook, Serve, Delicious! 3?Vertigo Gaming Inc.Management, Casual, Arcade9
RetimedTeam ManiaxCasual, Party Game, Multiplayer10
Fury UnleashedAwesome Games StudioAction, Roguelike, Platformer, Shooter11
LevelheadButterscotch ShenanigansPrecision Platformer12

First of all, the battle for the top 3 was a bit hard… Vane looks very interesting and I wanna try it out… but so does Hellpoint as it has this mix of occultism and science-fiction… and with that comes cosmic horror, I think? So it might be a great title to play sometime. And then there’s also Morkredd, which is a great title that I already and played through but it’s lovely to play it again with someone else together and I really enjoyed and you can hear more of my thoughts on that right here in my review. Wink wink nudge nudge. So, since I don’t know if Vane is actually good or if it only looks interesting, I put up Morkredd higher up because it’s very cool! And Hellpoint just made it a nudge higher up because I’m very interested in that game…

Next up are two games that I’m kinda interested in but also not really. I own the other Metro games and I played the first Metro game a bit so I know that I kind of like it but also kind of dislike it… and I know that I’ll probably play the franchise eventually on Stream, so I put up Metro a bit higher than Darksiders… especially since I own a Darksiders game but I don’t actually know how it plays and if I like it although I probably do… So Metro is a bit higher up than Darksiders because I know how the Metro series (or at least one of the games) works and I like it.

Now, Family Man is interesting… kind of… and I wanna see how it goes, so while I’m not super-interested in it and while I wouldn’t have bought it, I’d take it since it’s better than some of the other games. Size Matters is also interesting… kind of… I basically put both of these games on Rank 6 since I’m not sure which one I find more interesting. Relicta didn’t really pull me in but I find it more interesting than the rest of the titles. Cook, Serve, Delicious 3 should be interesting for me but one of the previous titles bored me or frustrated me… I just have negative connotations with it for whatever reason and I think it’s either boredom or frustration but I just end up not liking it. Retimed and Fury Unleashed are co-op games, which is nice in theory, but I don’t really have friends to play those games with. Both of them are platformers, so that’s a minus point for me, essentially. Levelhead is just not my cup of tea, so that’s in the last place.

I think I’ll actually grab this month’s choice since I really want Hellpoint, Vane and some of the other titles that I mentioned above. I can also gift Morkredd to a friend potentially and have them play it as well, which would be nice. Maybe I’ll get another discount or something but overall this should be worth it, especially as my financial situation is less bad this month. I think this may very much be worth it. 

Anyways, are you grabbing this month’s choice? Let me know! How would you have ranked these games? I’ll probably get all the games again because of the Classic Plan but which games would you have thrown out? If you want to, there’s a referral link over here that you can use that would support me at the cost of nothing. Clicking it does nothing but if you decide to go for Humble Choice and you get it through the link, a little bit of money goes to the Trevor Project (who are a charity org that do stuff for LGBTQIA+ youth around the world) and I earn a little bit of money as well. But you don’t have to if you don’t want to. Oh well!

Also, check out Naithin’s post on it! He just published it and his ranking is different from mine, so that’s nice. :)

Cheers!

This post was originally written by Dan Dicere from Indiecator.

If you see this article anywhere else other than Indiecator.org… then this article has been stolen. Please let me know of this via E-Mail. Other than that, feel free to stop by my Twitch streams!

3 thoughts on “Humble Choice – May, 2021

Add yours

  1. Hellpoint plays very much like Dark Souls or even Demon’s Souls (including all the old inconveniences that made those games harder and/or more tedious, and the lack of a narrative structure) if that influences your decision in any way. It’s one of the few “Souls-like” games that I would say is accurately described as a Souls-like, just more of a low-budget version.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, well, I like the challenge in souls-like. Really have been enjoying Sekiro as of late and I loved Dark Souls 3. I may have to get used to the older conveniences but it’s a different setting, so definitely worth looking into! Thanks for the comment and your opinion on it! I’ll have to see how I’ll like it one I get around to it. :)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑